I Forge Iron

Devil Forge use for a newbie

David Joiner

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to blacksmithing/metalwork so I'm sure I'll have many questions over the months/years but my first is regarding the devil forge I recently brought, I'm worried I may be damaging it by the way I'm using it, but being new to this I have no points of reference. Here are three photos the 1st is of the top of my forge after only a few minutes of use (is this sort of charring to be expected?), 2nd the forge in use (does this seem adequate to heat and shape metal with?)  and 3rd the pressure my gauge is showing (is this to low? too high?).

Could someone please advise if this all looks ok.

I thank everyone who take the time to answer me.

IMG_1220.JPG

IMG_1221.JPG

IMG_1222.JPG

You need to ridgidize and seal the insulation with a good refractory cement and if desired an IR reflector like metirkotte or plistex or itc 100.  Go to the gas forges section and read the forges 101 thread. Will save your lungs/ life and a lot of head ache!  

My my forge likes 13-15 psi best. Your results may very

Your forge photo shows an excellent flame coming from its burner, which is a problem for you; the reason is that such a flame is not causing the carbon build up on your insulation. Something in the insulation is cooking off. This means that at the very least you will have to turn the forge up hot enough to burn away all traces of this chemical, and the carbon it is leaving on your insulation before you can either rigidize the ceramic blanket or seal coat it.