I Forge Iron

Newbie from Virginia

Howdy,

New guy here.  I posted pics and info about my set up already in the "Show Me Your Shop" thread, page 15.

I should be hammering steel for the first time this weekend.

Other than that, I'm 49, and married to a wonderful (and patient!) wife.  As the screen name implies, I'm a Marine veteran (artillery, so speak up).  In addition to my new blacksmithing hobby, I also mess around with my 72 Jeep Commando, Celtic festivals, and emergency preparedness.

There looks like a ton of great info on here, and I'm really looking forward to learning from folks.

Donald

T. P.,

The Russian fellow was using an intact shell to smith on. He evidently finally hit the primer and the shell blew up. The primer was the sensitive part and the bulk propellant was a lot more stable hence he used it for a number of years before blowing himself up.

Mr. Hofi is not using an intact shell. He is only using the tungsten rod. That relatively thin rod is the action end of the kinetic energy penetrator. It is surrounded by a discarding sabot which breaks apart as soon as it leaves the cannon muzzle. (namely APDS or APDFSD), The flying rod punches through tank armor destroying the tank. These days heavier depleted uranium rods are used instead of tungsten. It does a much better job. IIRC depleted uranium is three times heavier than gold.

In other words the tungsten rod, itself, is not explosive, and can be smithed.

But you KNOW that.

I am writing this note primariiy for other readers. Perhaps they can also get a hold of used tungsten warheads from military firing ranges or from army surplus.

Somehow, I strongly suspect that Mr. Hofi has access to depleted uranium rods too. That wouldn't surprise me in the least.

Cheers,

SLAG.

Yes but you forgot to mention that depleted uranium is pyrophoric and SHOULD NOT BE PUT IN A FORGE!  

The 6 Day War predates DU kinetic rounds; I didn't ask him about more modern item access.