I Forge Iron

New to blacksmithing, just built a forge!

OliverE

Hello everyone!

Greetings from Stockholm, Sweden. I'm new to both blacksmithing and this forum - but I just managed to build a small brake drum forge this weekend. And I want to share my results!

Best regards

//Oliver

Good start! I like your enthusiasm!

Couple of little details:

First, get yourself a proper anvil. What you have there is what we can an ASO (Anvil-Shaped Object). Cute, but largely useless. NOTE: you do not have to get yourself a big, commercial anvil right off the bat. A length of railroad track or a forklift tine will do just fine (stood on end, mind you); there are all sorts of threads here on IFI that can give you some ideas.

Second, get rid of the shower grate, for two reasons. The first is that it's probably going to burn up anyway. The second (and more important) is that the chrome plating can make you very sick as it burns off. Same goes for the chrome-plated bolts. Anything galvanized or chrome plated stays out of the fire. The rule is: no rust, no trust.

Third, replace the grate with a couple of short bars of 10 mil (or thereabouts) round stock welded across the opening to your air pipe. That will give you enough air coming in, but will keep too much fuel from falling down.

Fourth, you may find the screw plug at the bottom of your air pipe to be too difficult to remove and replace every time you need to clean the ash dump. A lot of people here have made flap doors that stay closed under their own weight but can be opened easily with a tap of the foot. Again, take a look around the forum for ideas.

So again, welcome, and happy forging!

Welcome aboard Oliver, glad to have you. We have a number of members from your corner of the world, I'm sure a few will speak up soon as they notice you.