I Forge Iron

Questions about acids

Will W.

I've read that to bring out the pattern in Damascus, you need to etch it in acid. I know a fair deal about chemistry and acids, and I am weary about working with them (for obvious reasons) but I do want to do pattern welded knives, eventually. I have de-galvanized steel before using vinegar (weak acetic acid), it takes a while but vinegar is far more safe than more potent acids. I realize that zinc is pretty reactive, so even a weak acid can strip it, but is it possible to etch with vinegar? Would I perhaps have to concentrate it? Also, any general information regarding storage and disposal of acids would be very appreciated, I have very little actual experience with them. The only way I know to dispose of it is to neutralize it and call a hazmat team. Thanks in advance. 

Should be a lot of threads covering this and perhaps mentioning that hot vinegar and salt does well but leave very little topography.  Many makers will use Ferric Chloride as it's less hazardous if you come in contact with your skin but is an aggressive etch.

How are you neutralizing which acid that you need a hazmat team afterwards?

I tried searching the forum for info on using vinegar, and i couldnt find much. But I know that adding baking soda to most acids neutralizes it. The way i understand it, it lowers the ph to the point where its no longer very acidic. But for obvious reasons, you can't dump it down the drain or anything like that, so the only way I know to get rid of it is have it disposed of by a hazmat team. No doubt, I could be wrong about this, my knowledge is rather limited on the subject. That's interesting about the hot vinegar and salt though. I may try that in the future. 

Will W.  sir.