I Forge Iron

Help for Newbie to refurbish old forge

Rond

I am just starting to learn about blacksmithing and had a chance to purchase
a cast iron forge. The forge is 22" x 36" with built in firepot with a clinker
breaker. It has no cracks but has a lot of surface rust. Any advise on how
to clean? Is a wire brush the best way? How to keep the rust from coming
back? It also had a Champion 40 blower, which turns easily. The person I purchased it from had taken the top off and cleaned the old oil out and left it out so it would not leak when transporting. What kind of oil should I put in it?
Is there supposed to be any type of gasket between the top and bottom
of the blower housing?
I know this is a lot of questions, but have no one close to help me.
Thanks
Ron

Rond
Just wear one of those little white dust mask when you wire brush it .
As long as you are using it regularly it shouldnt rust too bad.
But I would paint it ( GRAY ) :) :) :)
Dont even ask about what kind of oil to use on here as you will get at least 6 different reccomendations and get really confused.
Heres the first one ---- straight 30 weight motor oil.

Mike Tanner

If I know what you are talking about, there is no gasket, the oil stays on the bottom and is carried up with the gears as you turn it. Mine seeps a little here and there I think the last time that I put oil in it I used 30 weight or 90 weight I can't remember and it didnt' seem to make much difference. That was a good find you got. good luck.

get yourself an angle grinder and a cup brush....clean it up and then go get some rustoleum high temp paint and do her up. that is standord operating procedure for old rusty things i rebuild and install. works great!....also tell us where you are from.....

ron, that sounds exactly like the forge i have. champion all the way.