I Forge Iron

Critiques, please

Newbie here, in the process of making some basic tools to make knives, flint strikers, and other little things. I am using junkyard steel for now, like leaf and coil springs.

I found myself in need of a hot cut. So I made this chisel from a jack hammer bit (that was about 1-1/8 inches thick). It was hard as hell, had to work it really hot and coax it with a 4-lb sledge until I got it thinned out a bit.

Obviously didn't turn out as planned, taller and thinner than I intended, but here it is. For my use it should be adequate, though. I ground an appleseed edge.

Normalized it for 30 minutes when it became non-magnetic, but then I had trouble running the forge at a low enough heat to soak it at that color. It kept getting hotter. What can do to fix this? If I turn down the gas any lower it sputters out.

Quenched in oil until ambient and immediately tempered at 450 deg F for 2 hours. Plan for second temper at 500 deg for 2 hours.

I made a knife, but that was a little forging and a lot of grinding. This is the second thing I've ever forged, but the only grinding was to form the edge. The amount of scale loss was astonishing, I will have to plan better for that next time.

11227952_1094785797232139_1317698233299241108_n.jpg

Looks like a slitting chisel.  I use my slitting chisels a whole lot more than a thick chisel.

Now normalizing is heating to critical temp and cooling in still air; did you mean soaking?  Most Jackhammer bits are around 1050 that doesn't require a long soak. Was that warm oil?  Check the hardness before you do a higher temper.  Multiple temper cycles at the same temp are usually done. I only go higher when I feel it's too hard/brittle at the temper temp I am using.

Normalizing - After forging was complete, I heated it for 30 minutes at non-magnetic and then let it air cool.