I Forge Iron

7 gallon perlite/sodium silicate/aluminum oxide forge lined with 3000 F refractory

So, I am a newbie...both to the website and to forge making...which may mean my first attempt at building one could be called a "forgery". Sorry. Couldn't resist. Admittedly, there are a lot of great ideas on how to make a forge. Seemingly endless, actually. I decided early on that I was as interested in the process of making this, as I was in "making this".  It HAS been a process.  Everyone has seen the video on making a small forge with a stainless garbage can using perlite, sodium silicate, and aluminum oxide. The design has drawbacks...they all do.

So I played around with making a much bigger version out of an old 7 gallon propane tank, but kept the internal diameter at 3.5". Two burners rather than one seemed reasonable. The wall thickness of the forge body was thereby increased relative to the cavity. It took a heck of a lot of perlite and liquid glass to fill, but casted nicely. It ended up using nearly 3 liters of sodium silicate, so thank god I had a bunch of NaOH. The inner cavity is lined with refractory cement rated at 3000 F. The burners are 1/8 stainless, with a bell I made out of a drift I had previously hammered using a coal forge we built from a brake drum. The mig tips I used are 0.035, and when fed by the 30 psi high pressure propane line, throw off a big hot blue flame.  Both ends of the forge are open for now, but can be closed if desired. 

We tried it out with good results. A leaf spring heated cherry red in 2.5 minutes. The burners are recessed into the forge body, and the 15 degrees off center placement gave a spinning vortex in the chamber. Once I get a heat gun to measure temperatures, I can relay how hot we got, but for now, the example is all I have. As far as durability...yet to be seen.