I Forge Iron

Greetings from Virginia!

jumbojak

Hello everyone, on the internet I'm know as jumbojak, JJ, and occasionally as Mick. The last one is what folks tend to call me in real life but, due to the ease of managing accounts across multiple forums with a single handle I tend to go by jumbojak on the web. That one has been with me for a while now.

I'm new to blacksmithing, having just fired my forge up for the first time today, though I would like to reach a point where I can make hand tools and simple decorative iron work. That level will be a long time in the making so I plan to give it all I have and sort of... fail my way to success, if you know what I mean.

With a little luck I hope to find something suitable to use as an anvil within the next week so I can start practicing in earnest. Tools are fairly limited right now but that's okay. I plan on using my car as my "work truck" for the time being and have all my equipment as portable as possible. 

Fortunately, I drive a Buick and the boot is big enough to comfortably carry the forge, a largish toolbox, charcoal in ample quantities, various long handled instruments, a vise and stand (still working on restoration of the vise at the moment), a large bovine animal, and enough gravel to resurface a driveway. Okay, the last few were a joke but I look in that trunk and see nothing but space. My colliery goes in the back seat.

Well, I think that about covers everything. For those interested I'm from the Tidewater region of Virginia and have lived here all my life. My girlfriend is English - just in case you were wondering about my use of the word "boot" in relation to the car - so if I fall into British spelling don't think I'm some kind of troll attempting to play both sides of the pond. I may at times talk about labour but you will never hear me utter the word aluminium!

Cheers,

Mick