I Forge Iron

Heat treating oven VS gas forge?

I am fairly new to knife making and so far all of my experience is in stock removal. I want to move on to forging and I plan to use gas, but I'm wondering what advantages there are to having a heat treating oven in addition to a gas forge. Can someone help me understand the cons of using a gas forge for everything, and the added pros of having a heat treat oven?

I'd also appreciate a little insight into the advantages of open end port forges vs forges with solid doors... I assume that with open ports I can heat longer pieces of metal and billets with welded-on handles, but I'm sure I'm missing the fine points if not the fundamentals...

-Ian

Edited by Ian Sayers

If you're new to knife making then you need more experience to heat treat by eye. A heat treat oven takes the guesswork out of it no matter who you are. One of the guys in our club recently got a liquidation sale ceramic kiln rewired as a heat treat and mokume oven.

If you're burning any fuel you MUST have an exhaust or it's going to be choked out. You want to keep the doors in a gas forge as closed as possible without creating back pressure that effects the burners. A gun (blown) burner is less susceptible than a naturally aspirated burner but MUST have an exhaust port none the less.

And YES that's a fundamental.

Frosty The Lucky.

More specifically, the atmospheres are different within a heating electric kiln and a gas forge, leading to different kinds of oxidation/decarburization issues, and as such, different solutions. I am not well versed enough in gas forges to elaborate on that, but there is another big point of difference.