I Forge Iron

Introducing!

Old Rasputin, well his ghost to be more precise.

I am a 3rd year art student from FL interested in starting a self sufficient community for artists and intellectuals. With this goal in mind I am on the quest for information and experience.

Learning how to produce most of what is necessary to live, is a little daunting, but with the help of a couple like minded individuals we should manage, and hopefully flourish!

During my first two years of college I worked with a carpenter, and enjoyed the work greatly, creating functional things is absolutely wonderful!

Being a blacksmith has been a bit of a fantasy of mine for quite some time. Just the thought of being at the forge and creating things out of fire, might and various metals is very appealing. Now I think its about time to start learning what I can.

Any and all help/advice is always welcome.

ROG 10.31.07

Yes it does ;) . There are actually a few good google books about household implements from the turn of the century if you'll look in the blueprint section for resources you'll find them. Or just do the search yourself. Might give you a good idea of the types of items that you might need to learn to make. And once you see it, it's no more complicated than taking a ball of clay and hitting it with a hammer until it's right. Good luck and let us know what specifics we can help out with. Check out all the blueprints we have here and you'll notice quite a few little tricks for when you start hitting hot metal.

Thinking about straw bale construction for the houses?

Please don't let this be a downer; but only a cautionary tale so you can avoid problems!