I Forge Iron

PSI vs inch per minute

bottles

Hi quick question on power (psi) versus speed of ram (or pump)?

I have a 3 phase 2.2kw (3hp) motor run via a vfd. It has a 4cc (0.25"?) pump running at 1400 rpm. It will easily hit 3000psi at 50hz.

My ram is 4" and moves around 1/2 per second at 3000psi.

I have a pressure regulator before a solenoid block. The solenoid diverts to tank when not engaged.

When the ram moves and contacts hot metal it takes about half a second to reach 3000psi during which time the dies suck out the heat. It does move a reasonable amount of metal.

BUT if I increase frequency to 100hz this would give 3 gpm increase the ram speed and dropped the max pressure to 2000psi am I likely to see any real difference?

As most of the work seems to happen at the initial contact of the dies especially when screaming hot.

Andrew

I'm no expert on presses but have some experience with hydraulic systems. If you start thinking of hydraulic systems usiing simple gearing or belt gearing as a model it's actually easier. For instance, thinking of GPM as rpm or horsepower and psi as torque is a valid model.

What you're doing by changing the GPM of your pump is spending torque (pressure under the dies) for horsepower, ram speed. I'd have to search out and read through conversion tables to interpret herz. watts, etc. into terms I'm used to.

Anyway, one easy trick I used fairly often on the drill rigs to speed things up without sacrificing power was t oversize supply lines and fittings. The down side for a small system is increasing the supply volumes means more fluid to move but if it's modest it's not a significant factor.