I Forge Iron

induction forge general questions

Ok im new to this and not the most knowledgeable on electronics but a friend who is is helping me, I have seen a design online for a 3 to 10kw unit but it gives lots of options and maths.

I heat a lot of 1/2" ( 12mm ) round and square for regular items I make so was looking at making it just for that.

skin effect! have read that low frequencies for deep heating and higher for heating the surface, as im only doing 1/2" thick what do you thing the best frequency to aim for is?

how much power! will 3kw be enough or should I look at more?

here in the UK we have 240 volt single phase mains.

was thinking of an addition in the form of a timer for heat time, do you think this is a good idea?

reheat time will probably be a lot shorter than first heat and will it also be quicker if reheating something I have drawn out thinner.

not an expert ... but go for the biggest kw ...     

skin effect...   yep the high freq heats about 1/16" skin ... but that quickly wicks into the core .... 

medium freq costs much more money ...  not worth it for just 1/2" barstock ... but if you have the bucks

timer... depends on your work...   if your doing production type work then maybe ...  but i never use the timer on mine

reheat is somewhat quicker...   heats fast to non-mag then it slows down going higher ...

also ... heating depends on the closeness of the coils to the work piece.........  if you have huge coils and a small bitty bar, coupling is poorer and heating is slow ...

if your gonna make one...  make it so that you can change out coils very quickly to suite the work you are doing ...  and go for the highest kw unit ...   you can turn it down

good luck

G

the unit i am looking at was aimed at 70khz but turned out to be 66khz, as most of my work is the 1/2" i would make coils that are best for that size but I would have bigger for other stuff.