I Forge Iron

South High show

I was at the south high show yesterday as well as Vince and Jim. First show I have done with 3 smiths at the same event. I don't think any of us did as well as we would have liked but the weather getting in was better than I ever remember. Vince and I stopped by Jim's shop afterward, way to organized. I of course was confused as you could see the floor, Vince thinks this is normal.

I was thinking that he thought seeing the floor was normal, likely he thinks my being confused is normal also only he may be to polite to say so. It was a Christmas craft sales show. One of the better ones.

Yeah Vince is a polite guy isn't he. <grin>

We talked about the Christmas show at the meeting didn't we. Were there a lot of displays?

Frosty The Lucky.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi fellows My name is Zak and I am VERY new to smithing.  I have a great deal of knowledge and a great deal of humbleness in knowing that I know VERY LITTLE.  I am looking to know when and where you guys get together to practice (is there a better term, I couldn't think of one) so I could learn and share some of my experiences with others.  I am really excited to learn more, but am lacking in supplies and time.  I live in an apartment in Anchorage's south side so doing my work here is a no go, but my mom in Palmer has lent me her garage, so at least I have a place to work from time to time.  I am not interested in weapons or even knives right now, I am interested in learning to make CONSISTANT shapes and to produce work that can be repeated and sold.  I would also love to learn to do repairs as well.

Thank you gentlemen for your kind attention.

Sincerly

Zak Lockman

Welcome aboard Zak, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header we'll stop bugging you.