I Forge Iron

shaping steel

I'm not an expert by any means, bu my experience leads me to balive that it doesn't weeken it. It may work harden and their for induce stress fractures.
I have also experienced a perceived softening, such as a bent nail. Now if this do to the nail tempering do to internal friction heating the metal of some thing else I don't know.
I would cation you about straitening a bent wheel. It can be done, and their are shops that do it. But it should be at least magnafluxed, and balanced having a wheel fail at 75+ would ruin your, or some one else's day.
This said I straitening the outer edge of wheels, and I have beat some truck rims on off road rigs pretty ugly to get them to hold air so I'd wouldnt have to hike out (in AZ and other points west that can be a 100 mile hike)
Best bet is to let a pro do it, if it fails catastrficaly at least you have there insurance to CYA.

Yep.  The amount of weakening is dependent on lots of factors... but bend it enough and it will break... so each bend makes it weaker. Severe bends weaken more than slight bends.  Steel is pretty tough and considerable forming (bending) can be done cold before it gets TOO weak for most applications.  Any steel rim that has been reshaped will be weaker than the same rim was new.  So a very slight bend will likely be repairable with no significant weakening... otherwise it will be wise to replace the rim and avoid the possibility of a tragic accident!

Reason why i asked was that i mannaged to strike a curb while coming around it, with my 53 ft trailer with 44700 in the box, and then bending the rim so that it had bent up to the point of a fist sized "dent" and the repair guys used a 10lb sledge to beat it back into a shape, just wondering if that rim would be legal to go up into British columbia north of the us border?