I Forge Iron

Smiths in south east

Hello
Mack Martin, ive been forging for about 3 years, been workin in shops for longer. I strive to become a professional smith one day. In the last year I have been learning to weld at a local college. I take classes up at Campbell when ever I can, only 6 under my belt so far. I have my own small shop at home and forge often. I belong to the two gilds in GA (my home state). I

You have six (6) classes under your belt? Wow!

While I love getting together with other smiths and would LOVE to take a couple classes, both situations are pretty rare around here. I had to teach myself, not than I'm putting that up as better, there are definate disadvantages. I reinvented so many wheels over the years I could supply Firestone.

What I'm saying is what I tell the folk I've taught over the years. Smithing is a combination of knowledge and practice, nothing more. No magic, no big secrets, just knowledge and practice.

Perhaps after 3 years and 6 classes you actually have enough knowledge and practice to start selling your work? Almost every skilled smith I've met who doesn't sell much work either doesn't want to or just doesn't market properly.

Good to see you delurking and I'm looking foreward to discussing whatever has you held up, got you going or just swapping good recipes.

Frosty

I live in Georgia as well, but am new to blacksmithing myself, so no chance of an apprenticeship here, but I fear apprenticeships are pretty rare these day(correct me if I'm wrong). It is always good, however, to have friends with similar interest as you. What part of Georgia are you from?

im in Gwinnett, just North East of atlanta,
and even if its not a job its alwase good to have friends, i prefer to work in a shop with other people, blacksmithing can get pretty hard without a extra hand or two. yes apprenticesships are hard to find, its more likely ill find a job in a shop with a few other guys all workin under a Professional smith.