I Forge Iron

Pick Apart My Plan

hey everyone, I have been hiding out for a few months absorbing as much information as I could for my first attempt at a forge build. I dont have a lot of money to throw at a forge so I have designed one that has only run about 125 in parts and materials. I am trying to make a small tinkers coal forge. I was hoping you could point out any shortcoming in the plan that may be a future problem or more importantly, outright dangerous. Thanks for your time and help.

I am using an old flat bottom BBQ pit as the base of my forge. I will cut out a hole and place an old brake drum from a car into the hole to create my fire pot. I will create a grog out of kitty liter, smashed firebricks, and Oatey High heat furnace cement to line and insulate the entire pit. I will run a 2in non galvanized steel pipe up through the brake drum with holes drilled into the cap to allow airflow. The pipe will connect to a "T" pipe the bottom being a reservoir for ash and the right angle connecting to my air source.

Anything stand out as particularly stupid or dangerous?

I have a 3in section of pipe for the dump gate, My tyre setup is almost the same as yours without the welding to receive the pipe.  As far as being on a budget, I spent that over the course of a few months. I dont have a lot of tools that were required in the other forge instructions (welder, saw for cutting steel) I also own a small car, so i couldn't fit most things necessary to build the other forges in my car i.e. 55gal drum. I had planed on using clay instead of refractory cement but I found out mississippi mud is no good which bumped my cost up about 40 bucks(S&H) and the pipe cost me 45. everything else was 5 bucks here and 5 bucks there.