I Forge Iron

converting a charcoal grill to a gas forge

bajones

Hey everyone, my name is Ben. I'm new to blacksmithing and am looking to make a propane-powered forge.  I have a small charcoal grill and I was wondering if it would be possible to maybe drill a hole in the side to attach a propane torch and then line the inside with some sort of refractory material and install a steel flap that could be opened up to insert stock.  I have a bunch of railroad spikes that would fit in the grill perfectly and I think would be good to practice with. Thanks in advance for any replies and I look forward to learning more and participating in more discussions.

post-39629-0-30421500-1365658649_thumb.j

Thanks so much for the replies. What about it would make it more difficult? And I like the idea of a bean can or coffee can forge or something similar.  I also like this forge out of a steel bucket- http://zoellerforge.com/simplegasforge.html.  Would a propane burner like you get at Lowes or Home Depot work for any of those? Thanks again for the help guys.

On a slightly unrelated note, I found this exploring the woods on our new property today.  Does anyone know what it is and if it would be possible to convert into a forge? It looks like it would work really well and its already got a metal flap installed to insert stock through.  Thanks again for the replies.

post-39629-0-97133400-1365738742_thumb.j

post-39629-0-64902300-1365738787_thumb.j

post-39629-0-43323600-1365738837_thumb.j

post-39629-0-66395000-1365738862_thumb.j

post-39629-0-62008000-1365738810_thumb.j

Think smaller. Think 5 gallon bucket, propane tank, freon tank, air filler tank etc. A forge the size of the pictured tank would be good for a glass furnace but for forging would be terribly expensive to run. Same with BBQ shell. My 2 cents