I Forge Iron

Soooo.... JYH... Long Overdue yet still lacking... (Pics!) .. need drive roller.

It wasn't that good an anvil. Cast iron and the face of it was all pitted.  Don't worry, I have another one for normal pounding. I made it before I found my local scrap yard, so I  used what I had at the time.   I made the anvil before I had a base.

Prolly bass Ackwards, but so what, I'm new at this and going at it pretty much solo.

Greetings ,

Sorry for the slam buuuttt ya had it comming..   If you log on to flat belt and hit and miss engines on ebay you will find a pulley to complete your project.

I have a complete line shaft driven shop and use this type of pulleys all the time..  Browning is one company

Good luck on you project

Thanks for the lead.

You guys sure are sensitive about your anvil's huh ?   I just figured, leave it in the corner to collect dust, or use it for something better.  I know it will get more service as part of a bigger machine than as an object in the corner.    Guess that's why I'm building a Junk Yard Hammer instead of buying a nice $5000 air hammer,  so I can use all the junk I haz laying around, and have the joy of deciding between bolting something up nicely or just slap some weld on there and

call it good enough.  :)

But hey, I'm not the type to put low profile tires and big rims on a Hummer so I can drive it to the car wash.   I'd rather dive bomb it into the mud and let the poor machine get some use.

Thanks for the info,

-Bruno