I Forge Iron

Could someone Identify what this is used for.

Ok...Complete newbie here (been forging two weeks; already gashed my thumb and wore all the skin off my hammerin' finger). Help me vision this "made from one piece" thing. The piece was drawn down to a point, then split from the thick end down, then each piece of the top worked? I've become fascinated by the whole splitting thing in general, especially getting the piece split that far down (all I've tried so far was a leaf stem).

The hook also lets you hang it from the back of a chair or the top molding in a wainscotted interior wall.

from my Google search........................

Miners lamps

www.ramshornstudio.com/miners_lamps.htm
Apr 6, 2010 – A "sticking tommy" or miner's pick is a candle in a forged holder with a hook to hang on the front of the helmet. The holder also had a point that ...

The miners' candleholder of this sort was used in mines from about the 1860s when parrafin candles becme cheap as a by product of oil refining until the 1890s when carbide lamps (burning acetylene gas from the reaction of calcium carbide and water) were introduced. Before the introduction of cheap candles miners used oil/fat lamps similar to a colonial betty lamp. After carbide lamps came electric cap lamps.

Miners' candle holders were manufactured commercially or were knocked out by the local, often the mine's, blacksmith. Some were very elaborate and decorated. They were used by small mines well into the 20th century. Carbide lamps are still in use today by some old school cavers but calcium carbide is getting harder to find.

Yes, sometimes miners' candle holders were worn on the miner's hat. Think of a baseball cap with a stiff piece of leather above the brim and possibly a thin piece of tin into which the hook was placed.

One of the tricks of making them is to make sure that the hook is right at the balance point so that it hangs level when hung by the hook.