I Forge Iron

Forging O-1?

RGraff

Complete newbie question here. I have a good supply of O-1 left over from when I had my machine/fab shop and I was wondering if this is a steel suitable for forging knives? I've used it before for a couple knives but only as stock removal, never forged. I have sizes ranging in thickness from 1/2" to 1" rounds and 1/4" to 3/8" flats. Any special considerations for quenching, tempering, annealing, etc.? We always used ATF for quench when making hinge pins. Will this work for knives?

Thanks in advance.

0-1 steel makes great cutting tools including knives. I have made a lot of folders from this steel. I grind to shape When I forge blades I use mostly 1084.
When I am looking at a new steel for me to use I first google for working data and specs. It will give you quench medium, Forging temps, annealing temps and heat treat information. Got me curious with this post. I googled it and a couple of sites did not list forging temps. One of the wizards here may be able to 'splain that. The bars you have were shaped hot. If I had your supply I would likely forge them into wot I wished and then make test blades and run them through testing. i use atf for my folder blade heat treat.

O1 is a great knife steel (though not one I've played with yet) with good edge retention. It's a bit prone to rust. ATF should work, but I'm a proponent of quenching in canola oil. Good quench speed, hardens nicely without overstressing the steel, and non-toxic.

Someone with more experience using O1 will be along shortly to give better data, I'm sure. :)

Thinner sections will air harden. I make bar loader collets at work out of O-1 (would rather use a spring steel, but this is what we have at the moment)and I just heat , and remove the flame to harden the tines. Annealing will take a process, as it will air harden. Keep the heat in it while forging to avoid cracks.

• 1 month later...