I Forge Iron

Can Anyone Advise Me on this Helve Hammer?

I saw a Dayton Helve Hammer for sale in the Tailgating section, and it's the first helve hammer that has gotten my interest.

The hammer is here:

http://www.ebay.com/...o-/150882755404

and there's video of it being operated here:

Since I'm completely new to helve hammers (and have never actually used a power hammer of any kind) I had a few questions I'm hoping you more knowledgeable folks can answer:

1. Does anyone have a feel for how heavy the tup in the hammer referenced above might be? In other words, how big of a Little Giant style mechanical hammer this might be equivalent to, in terms of moving metal?

2. Are helve hammers always this short? In the video of this one being operated, the man operating it is tall, but still, this hammer seems like it was built for elves! Why are they so "short"? And, is there any problem with blocking them up higher so the operator doesn't get a back-ache from having to bend over all day? If you block them up, does having all the weight "up high" make the thing unstable and prone to "tip over"?

Are there any particular advantages or disadvantages of helve hammers, as opposed to mechanical hammers like the LG or junkyard tire hammer?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any information.

Thank you for your reply, Stewartthesmith.

Is that particular hammer called a "hawkeye"?

Also, in reading about helve hammers, I see many of them are "guided." Is there any advantage to having the hammer guided laterally, as opposed to this configuration? (I don't see how the hammer could move laterally, so long as the shaft bearings are OK.)

Thanks again.

That fine specimen of a hammer is mine.
Yes i'm tall
The hammer is a small compact HEAVY hitting hammer.
Its just sitting on a dirt floor
If you look close at the video you can see me step on the foot pedal several times because the hammer has worked its way down into the dirt floor a little.