I Forge Iron

Complete Newb and several questions

Greetings All,

Complete and utter newbie and not ashamed to wear that crown.

I am looking into building my first brake hub forge. I have several of the parts already but have not begun assembly.
I have little cash to start so anything I can "MacGuyver" I will. There is plenty of scrap near where I live considering there
is a railroad yard and scrapyard near by.

I am not looking to do big metal, maybe a few knives and some art pieces to see if this is a hobby for me to dive into.

A few questions, I noticed a lot of talk about fuel for the forge. Obviously if I am going with a brake drum setup, wood is out of the
question. Can I, however use the regular barbecue briquettes for fuel or will they burn up to quickly? Suggestions?

Also, a starter kit for tools. What is a decent hammer for pounding out railroad spikes? What size anvil is good to start on? Can I use
a railroad anvil to start? If not, will an anvil in the 25-50# range be suitable? What other types of tools will I need? What tools can I
make to keep the cost down?

Is there link on this site that discusses getting started and the do's and don'ts?

Thanks in advance, you guys really do some fantastic work.

-J

Most use coal or gas forges
I make my own charcoal from 2 X 4 ect wood in a barrel that I cal make air tight after the wood has burned to the right consistancy.
Briquets have dirt added in the process. Boughten charcoal would be cowboy or lump not briquets.
As for tools anything will work some type of tongs, vise grips or leave the stock long enough to use as a handle until finished forging and then cut the piece off the parent stock.
Anvils can be as primative as you have to be even a large rock
Good luck and try to find a group near you for hands on training

I realize you want to jump into the heart of the matter to see if you would like to learn the craft of blacksmithing or knife making.