I Forge Iron

transporting oxygen and acetylene tanks cross country

danarenor

Hi- I work as a jeweler, and have one small oxygen tank (about 14"high/ 17"diameter) and one small acetylene tank (20" high/ 20" diameter). I currently live in New Mexico, and will be moving to Wisconsin in about a month- I will be driving cross country w/a small car and a 10' U-haul box-truck. I am wondering if it is safe to travel with these 2 tanks secured in an upright position, in the back of the U-haul truck? My questions/concerns are:
1. Is it safe to transport them this way- could it be too hot in the U-haul for them?
2. Should they both be emptied of gas before being transported?
3. Is thare anything else I ought to know about how to safely transport these tanks?
Thanks for reading this, and for any help you can offer me!

I assume that the tanks you have ( B or smaller) you purchased so don't worry about other companies filling or exchanging them. Just keep the acetylene tank upright, valves closed, caps on if you have them and take to the road. You don't need any placards unless you want to drawer attention to your trip. Just do it and play dumb if a situation arises. This is one of those situations where less is better. Have a safe trip.

If you have the option, go ahead and empty them out just for safety. A leaking acetylene tank can cause explosions, oxygen a flash fire. These tanks have safetys that can release the pressure if over heated from being in an enclosed box. I'm not saying this will happen, the odds are next to none. Things happen though. A tire fire out in the middle of nowhere + full tanks aren't a good combonation. FYI, I'm in the welding supply buisness and safety is a huge concern. The small tanks are always customer owned and most companies just swap them out for convenience as few fill oxygen on site and none will fill the acetylene.