I Forge Iron

Dressing New Anvil?

I have an anvil whose edges are still pretty square (there really is no radius on them). I am a total newbie to blacksmithing, so I'm somewhat concerned about dinging/chipping these edges ... but I'm also concerned about making permanent changes to the anvil by grinding.

I see in Jack Andrews's book "New Edge of the Anvil" that he recommends:

"From the shoulder to the mid point develop the edge to 3/8" radius. Blend this radius into 1/4" radius from the mid point to the heel. The edge of the heel can be either sharp or rounded."'

Questions:

1. Is this the generally accepted "thing to do" with a new anvil?

2. Should both the "inner edge" (closer to the blacksmith) and "outer edge" (farther away) be eased this way?

3. This is a double-bick German-type anvil. Am I correct to assume that there should be no radius ground on the edges of the "square bick" on the right-hand side ... in other words, should I leave that part alone?

Thanks in advance for any advice.