I Forge Iron

New knife maker

joelon

Hey all!
I'm new to both this site and to blacksmithing, but i wanted to show some of my stuff for maybe some feed-back. This is a knife I made from a railroad spike....I thought it turned out alright but I was not sure how to harden it. Some one told me to try oil, so I got some used moter oil and queched it yellow hot, but it didnt seem to do much. (I eventually just work hardened it to death!) Anyway, any suggestions would be great...
joelon01.jpg

edit photo link fixed

What you could do, is heat it up to a very high temp. and then stick it in a pile of wood ashes or sand, and let it cooloff completely, which will soften it, and take all the work hardness out. Then what you do, is to make sure it's soft all the way around, heat it up to red hot, and let it cool in the air three times. Then heat it up to red hot, and quench it vertically (point first) in plain vegetable oil. It works really well IMHO. I'm a beginner too by the way. Welcome to the forum(s?) and I hope your stay is as fruitfull knowledgewise, as an army of humonga cherry trees. :D
P.S. I really like the knife! The lines are really clean and I likes dat! Have ypou sharpened it yet?

Unless your spike is marked "HC" on the head, it is most likely mild steel and will not harden.

If it is marked "HC" on the head, it has a little carbon in it an you might get it to harden to some degree.

A spike will not, in my experience, get "file skating hard" like a piece of 1095, O1, or other high carbon steels.

Joelon---Every thing in the above is correct with one exception. The quenching fluid has to be water, or something quicker. You just have a about two seconds to get this metal cooled down.

Nice job on the spike knife.

If the spike had an HC on the head. You will be able to harden it enough to make it fun to play with.

The best hardening procedure that I have found for this spike is

Heat to a good Red--Non-Mag.