I Forge Iron

bought an old ebay fix-it-up anvil

Hello all new to the site and to Blacksmithing and today i bought my first anvil. Still not sure as to the manufacture but needs a little repair to the Hardface. Im a welder by trade in the navy and i know it can be fixed. i found this on ebay and the guy posted that it was 250 to 300 lbs. He originally had it for 300 but after a few emails i talked him to 250 with some gas money to meet me 3/4 the way to my place . he lived 100 miles away after he pulled up and opened the back of his van i could tell by looking at it it wasnt 250 or 300 it was closer to 200. but i had already paid for it and it still has a nice ring to it even though the face is a little damaged but all in all i was happy. he even had an old pot to give to the wife for free after i got home. figured she would use it as a planter. on the way home i knew of an old abandoned rail track to my amazment had an engine running down it something i havent seen in the 12 years i have lived here. some of the tracks i was able to shift with my foot thats how old this section was. while i was there i found 8 rail spikes to the side scatered so i collected them and took em home. there are some stamp marks on the side of the anvil i make them out to be 1.2.20 thats all i could find. it anyone has some info on this anvil i would like to know. i restore old equipment to use in my shop, kind of a hobbie to fix something old to use again. thanks for reading, Dave

post-24592-0-84490200-1334863878_thumb.j

post-24592-0-83306100-1334863906_thumb.j

post-24592-0-26233600-1334864018_thumb.j

post-24592-0-98777700-1334864044_thumb.j

post-24592-0-19464900-1334864076_thumb.j

post-24592-0-03677700-1334864104_thumb.j

post-24592-0-86790100-1334864138_thumb.j

post-24592-0-88561300-1334864156_thumb.j

post-24592-0-08610200-1334864178_thumb.j