I Forge Iron

Some questions about agricultural steel.

I have a couple of questions about cutting steel found in ag applications. First off, is there a general rule about the kind of steel found in swather knife sections (a.k.a. sickle sections), or would I be better off asking the parts person when I buy the part if he or she knows what kind of steel the sections are made of?

Secondly, as I am a hobbyist and mostly got into this as a way to get use out of the scrap steel we have around, I like to use worn parts to make things. So when I saw the straw chopper blades from the combine had to be replaced I thought I'd try to find something useful to do with them. Then I found out that they're likely T9 steel and, looking at the AISI sheet on T9, I feel that T9 is beyond my forging skill level at this point. The question now is what can I do with this stuff, or is it best to go to the scrapper?

Here's a link to the spec sheet I found if you're wondering what the heck I'm talking about: http://www.steel0.com/AISI_T9.htm

I doubt those parts are anything more than 1085 carbon steel. It is rare for anything but really heavy equipment to use the more exotic chromium steels. That being said, I'd like to try some of that stuff. The best thing for you to do, at least for starts is get some sample pieces and do spark test with it. There are charts available to help identify steels by there spark. They aren't real accurate but will help get you started. Get some sample pieces that you know what it is and compare the sparks. Forge out a small piece, heat to nonmagnetic and quench in water. Put it in a vice and break it (wear safety glasses) and inspect he break. If it doesn't break it isn't knife material, and if the broke steel has a grainy texture take note. You want it to look like satin. I like playing metal detective, it's fun, but you want a lot of the stuff as it may take you a while to work out how to harden and temper it. I