I Forge Iron

Austenization, Hardening, 100% Martensite. Various questions.

Firstly, I haven't been on here in a long time. But summer is coming around and I want to get back to finishing my forge.

Anyways. I'm a mechanical engineering student, and I've had quite a bit of course material relevant to metallurgy, but I still have a few practical questions.

First of all, when Looking at a time temperature transformation phase diagram of eutectoid steel (0.76 wt % C), before cooling we always assume that the material is 100% austenite. If I have a piece of eutectoid steel, so with 100% pearlite microstructure, at room temperature, assuming negligable time to reach above the eutectoid temperature (~727C) how long does the specimen take to reach 100% austenite? I know it will depend on the size of the specimen, for this case assume its a typical size bowie. Looking at a phase diagram it's impossible to tell, since all the points on the phase diagram are based on the assumption of equilibrium being reached.

Also, when hardening, is the general goal to have 100% martensite when quenched, I know this would result in the highest hardness, but I don't know what the typical procedure is in most cases. In my view it would seem simpler when tempering to know that you are starting out with 100% martensite than with say, 50% pearlite, 50% martensite. Since then you get into issues with the pearlite becoming coarser as diffusion accelerates, etc.

Your question is a little out there. Here's why, most of the charts I've seen are based on 1085 simple carbon steel. The various alloys can drastically affect transformation, temper and everything else. Just changing the carbon content will change these. What steels are you using, if it is to complex of an alloy for me I'll be some one here works with it.