I Forge Iron

knife blanks in canada?

joshua.M

i am looking for a place to buy knife blades like these http://www.knifemaking.com/category-s/57.htm so i can finish them and better understand how to mount hardwear top them without spending a ton of money making the blades, then i can hopefully sell them (being honest that the blades are not of my making) for a small profit, but i cant find any where i can order them through the mail in canada, i could order them from jantz but would rather not pay the boarder fees and wait for the super efficient boarder people to let the package through
Thanks
Josh

I'm not Canadian and I have no experience with these guys, but Google turns up this page: http://www.on-the-edge.ca/103supplies-pg.htm

hey matt, i have spoken to these guys, they are a little sketchy about the material in thier blades when i asked what steel i got told "i think they're 440c? dose that sound right?"

I have never dealt with these guys but I have heard good things about them. http://www.mossingtonknives.com/supply/home.html They seem to have a lot more actual knifemaking supplies and less imported junk knives and swords than that other link.

hi mr newman, i couldnt find a link for blades on this site? do they sell blades? or just steel for blades?

I don't see any but I would give them a call. They look more like an actual knifemaking supply and if they don't stock any they may be able to bring some in when they bring in steel. Or they may decide roughed out blades are something they want to carry. They do sell flat blade stock though. If you are doing a stock removal blade and plan on tapering the blade at all, cutting the profile while a fair bit of work is not that big a part of the overall job. Especially if you can find someone with a bandsaw that you can borrow to rough out a couple of blades.

Hi