I Forge Iron

First Forge

ErictheRed1990

Just set up my first forge and it is a brake drum, i have a shop vac hooked up to it .... now im trying out charcoal to see if it works.... if anyone else has used charcoal please let me know... but i noticed it wasnt getting hot enough to actually make the metal 'glow' red or anything, is that normal with charcoal ? another question, seeing as how im brand new to blacksmithing; am i supposed to bury the metal in the charcoals or just put it ontop? any tips or insight would be great thanks.

You will still eat a lot of lump charcoal, but the heat efficiency is a lot better with the lump. You can buy it by the bag a Wal-Mart or a lot of other stores. Of course, it would be cheaper to make your own. But, depending on where you live, it may not be practical. Do a forum search for making charcoal. :)

Yeah, it's normal to use more charcoal than coal. Once coal has been coked (breeze being the colloquial term for forge coke) it runs about the same lb for lb. coke is the same as charcoal, using heat to remove the volatiles, leaving relatively pure carbon.

Briquettes are useable but have a real downside. Depending on the brand, the binder can be clay which just turns into clinker in the fire, others that use wood pulp or anthracite coal or similar binders are no serious problem. The other main downside is the size of the briquettes, they allow far too much air to pass so you get an oxidizing fire which is a bad thing unless you're cooking. curing the size is easy, take a hammer to it and use the stuff around 3/4". This increases the contact area and makes a more closed path for the air so you get less free oxy and more heat.