I Forge Iron

My First Attempt at Knife Making

billp

This is my first try at making a knife. This was made from a 1 1/4 x 1/8 piece of hot rolled steel that I used a hand grinder to make. I started with a 60 grid disk and moved to a 120 grid to finish grinding. Then I used my fine grinder I use to sharpen lknifes with to finish off the shape. Have been using a really fine sand paper to polish. The handle is made from oak scales and brass pins shaped with a belt sander and stained. The knife is 8 1/2 inchs long 3/4 at it's widest point and 1/8 thick with a 4 1/4 long blade.
I still need to work on the shaping of the blade a bit more and maybe even try heat treating it but not sure if I need to or not. All in all I'm kind of proud of it that is for a first time using what equipment I have. It is a bit heavy with a short handle but my hands are small and fits me fine. Made a sheath for it today so once I feel like I have finished the blade I'll carry it for a work knife. As I prefer a stright knife to a folder when working, never had a stright knife close up on me yet.
Any way I'm all fired up and have two more cut out ready to whip into shape. First chance I get will have to buy some better steel and try that.

post-7651-0-28520200-1316923402_thumb.jp

post-7651-0-02677900-1316923418_thumb.jp