I Forge Iron

Tomahawk handle... I need help

Hi I'm new to blacksmithing with only one tomahawk and a couple hooks and leaves under my belt. I've been trying to make a tomahawk handle that works well and doesn't crack. I'm fairly sure the problem is the wood as it is just a section of a branch I found. I want to know if there is a specific wood that any of you prefer, where I can get it, how I should prepare it and how I can attach it to the tomahawk. Thank you for any and all replies they are all appreciated :D .

Phoenix,

Original equipage tomahawk makers only had the wood avaialble local to where they were. No kiln dried hickory or home cheapo if you get my drift. Alder and most scrub bushes will supply a reasonable material for a handle. Whittle or draw the handle to fit your forged eye. Oval (eye) is better than square when working in the field because you can always whittle down a reasonable oval with a knife or a rock. Simple is a good thing.

Drift your eye in an hour glass shape of sorts. It does not have to be perfect just servicable and the objective is to have the figure 8 hour glass shape. Anything bigger on the top than the bottom will work. After you fit the handle into the eye use some magic...antifreeze. It will swell the wood and never dry out. Quick and dirty 21 st century solution. Water, wedges etc will usually crack but that was the only way in the old days.

Both methods work well but keep in mind, it's a weapon not a show piece and it will fail in service when used judically. Your ability to service\repair the weapon in the field (quickly) is part of the big picture. Simple is much better than complicated, for you the intended end user, Be guide accordingly. Good luck.

Peter