I Forge Iron

New Anvils for Old ones?

Hello all!

I am not exactly new to smithing, though by far I am a bit of a noob:)
I recently moved from the Nashville area to the Dallas area.
In doing so I was unable to bring with me many of the items that I had, such as in this case, my Anvil.
I donated it to the local guild when I left.

This puts me in the market for an anvil.

Here is my quandary:

I have been looking on ebay, craigslist, etc... and have found that the prices are ok, but the anvil's are far from being in unreal fantastic shape.
I can afford a new anvil, and am curious if there are really any advantages to a 100 year old peter wright vs a brand new Anvil Brand or something similar.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated and my budget is around 6-7 hundred, give or take (Prefer to take:) )

Thanks again for any assistance that you might provide.

Welcome TC,
There are many great old anvils, as far as quality the good ones are just as good as new.......there are pitfalls if you don't know what to buy and for how much, or
is there hidden damage.......... The new ones sold at blacksmith supply stores are excellent, the farrier supply anvils I can't say.........If money were not an issue I'd buy new, a sure thing is better than looking for a bargain sometimes........... ;)..Good luck...mb