I Forge Iron

Textured spring swages

Ok so I am still new to the smithing thing and I have seen some crazy works of art when it cOmes to blacksmithing projects..... So how do you/they or anyone make the spring Swages with the differant texture ? Maybe I'm over thinking the whole process..... Anyway you tell/show us how it's done. Thanks

Ok so I am still new to the smithing thing and I have seen some crazy works of art when it cOmes to blacksmithing projects..... So how do you/they or anyone make the spring Swages with the differant texture ? Maybe I'm over thinking the whole process..... Anyway you tell/show us how it's done. Thanks

The simplest way to have texturing dies is to let a new blacksmith come over and use your power hammer...after a day the dies will be nice and textured without you having to do anything...especially if they are making hemisphere dies by sinking a sphere into a hot billet to make an impression for a bottom swage........a sphere, being a very strong shape, will impress both the cold upper die as well as the hot billet.

Spring swages can be made may ways..there was recently a good discussion on how to make them in a way where the electric weld, if you use that method, will not shear after a day of forging. From there it is a matter of the texture you wish to make...many very good textures are developed on some very rough means....rocks,ball bearings,hack cuts with a chisel,mill cutters..etc
Basically you are making the texture into what will become upper and lower swage plates in the spring swage..you can make the texture on a bar and sink that into the hot swage or take and old bit of already textured material and use that as the striking surfaces of the swage or or or.....the end result is the same...allowing you to get the pattern to the target material.

OR

buy the existing texturing swages which are out there.

Over Thinking: