I Forge Iron

Making my own iron melting furnace

Hello everyone. I've been blacksmithing as a hobby for a couple of years now and even resurrected my grandfather's old forge.

I've recently been thinking about doing things with cast iron, or perhaps just melting down the iron so that I can pour it into more manageable shapes. But the first thing I'd need is to set up the furnace. I am wondering where I can get a crucible, and what all I might need for a simple coal fired furnace for melting iron.

Hey,

I've too had some interest in metal casting and think I can give you a few tips. You want to start with cast iron, this is both hard to cast and getting some materials is more difficult (crucible and furnace than can handle those temperatures). Maybe it's better to start with some other materials:

Metals than can be cast very easily are tin and lead, but these metals are poisonous so I advice you not to use those.

A material I found easy to cast is aluminium. You can make your own steel crucible easily (just weld a steel plate on a piece of pipe).

Other materials that are relatively easy to cast are brass and bronze, but I have less experience with these.

Furthermore I advice you to read some of the info on this site: backyard metal casting. This guy is somewhat of a hobby metal caster, but he gives a lot of interesting info (including on cast iron), as well as links to sites by guys similar to him.

Hope this helps!

NN4N

For casting cast iron what you want is a cupola not a crucible; they run on coke not coal and can be done in a moderate sized back yard with understanding neighbors on a small scale. (invite the fire department over for a BBQ the first time you run it to get everybody used to it.)

Take a look at this link: http://www.lindsaybks.com/bks3/chcup/index.html

Lindsay books is a go to place for this type of weirdness!