I Forge Iron

How to use a rear blast water cooled tue?

Scampbell

Ok so I posted pics of it in the it followed me home, but I need to know what to put in the hearth? I'm new to all of this and really want to do it up rite so the question is I was told to use some sand in it, and use " good sand" or I will burn the tueiron, so 1 do I use sand for it? 2 what kind of sand, I was kinda thinking sand dune, beach, or store bought "play" sand thanks in advance!

post-1-0-82798000-1295323456_thumb.jpg

post-1-0-59507400-1295323462_thumb.jpg

post-1-0-15048700-1295323468_thumb.jpg

Ok so I posted pics of it in the it followed me home, but I need to know what to put in the hearth? I'm new to all of this and really want to do it up rite so the question is I was told to use some sand in it, and use " good sand" or I will burn the tueiron, so 1 do I use sand for it? 2 what kind of sand, I was kinda thinking sand dune, beach, or store bought "play" sand thanks in advance!

First impression from the pictures you posted is that the tue iron could do with being a little higher, however if it has been working, then it should still do so.

The reasons sand is used is to take up space in the hearth so you do not waste fuel, secondly if you use coal as opposed to coke you may find that if you leave the fire, then the burning area will increase to fill the hearth.

Normally ash from previous fires is used to line the base and rear of the hearth which prevents the fire burning back further than the front face of the tue iron. If you don't have ash, you can use DRY sand, another alternative which we use on our forges is to line the forge with old refrectory bricks, leaving a fire pot area around the nose of the tue which allows the clinker to drop below it when in use.

The rest of the hearth has firebricks (or Sand) stacked around about level with the centre line of the tue.