I Forge Iron

So I'm looking to buy this fly press

Aaron J. Cergol

Hi all,

a friend pointed me to this fly press he saw an ad for in my area. All we know is that it's 6' tall, weighs a good 700 pounds...and that's about it. I'm going to check it out this week.

at any rate, if this is a good press, the price is certainly right, and I'm going to buy it. here's a pic from the ad.

what are your thoughts on this press? is it a known brand, or does it look to be of good quality? what sort of things should I be looking for, and checking over when I check it out?

if it helps, I'll be using it for heavier gauged repousse, slitting, drifting, riveting, and tasks like that. (mostly hot)

Thanks!

post-2151-0-11813800-1289084135_thumb.jp

so there is a difference between a screw press and a fly press then?

I'm new to this, but what difference does the speed make? or does it affect the momentum thus equaling the force exerted on the piece?

it's $300 and within a 15 minute drive. I've been looking for a press for a while, so I think it's a decent deal. do you think it's worth the $300?

From what I have read the biggest difference between and fly and screw press is a screw press will"squeeze" the work like a hydraulic press does.A fly press will deliver a single "hit" to the work,more like a power hammer does but with not as much force.
This is coming from what I have read and not from personal experience.
If I were looking at this press one of the first things I would consider is how easy would it be to resell.In other words if it didn`t do what I had hoped could I easily sell it and get my money back to put toward something that fit the bill better.If the answer is yes,and only you know what the economy and market for your area is,then I would not hesitate to buy it as it would be like money in the bank and at least give me something to experiment with.

BTW-Hard to make an assessment of condition using such a small pic.