I Forge Iron

My first hammer

This is my first attempt at a hammer. I felt like I wanted a straight pein, so I made one. I am also working on a diagonal pein, and a double diagonal pein just for fun.
I think this hammer was a great success aside from being a little smaller then I wanted. It is just under 2 lbs, I was trying for around 2 1/2 lbs. Both ends are tempered to a brown, just shy of purple. I didn't want them to hard and am testing out how I like it before I temper the other two hammers. I don't know what the steel was, it was from a 6ft pry bar I found in my Grandma's garage. It's somewhere in a medium carbon range, I've made two hardies out of it both of which have held up very nicely. The handle is just temporary, I want to have a rectangular shaped handle once I either find or make one.

Let me know what you all think of it. Also, I would be interested to hear what you all have tempered your hammers to.
Thanks for looking,
Aaron

post-12243-027223700 1286504640_thumb.jppost-12243-013274600 1286504652_thumb.jppost-12243-089016100 1286504663_thumb.jppost-12243-006047700 1286504676_thumb.jppost-12243-000051700 1286504688_thumb.jp

By the way, the touchmark used on it is my first attempt at one that I posted about today aswell.

Nice work for your first hammer.

Its 3:20 am and Im bored so Im going to talk about setting the handle! please dont take offense if you know all this, again Im just very bored.

In a replacement handle you will find a nice cleanly cut section the width of the handle, this is to allow the handle to pinch closed and slide into the hammer's eye. Once fitted on the head a slim wooden wedge is hammered into that cut spreading the wood back out filling the hourglass shape inside the hammers eye, this section then has a metal wedge, generally barbed hammered in perpendicular to the direction of the first wood wedge both locking it in place and spreading the handle in two directions giving it a firm grip to the head.