I Forge Iron

Tip: Airflow and Forging in a Confined Space

I have read a few comments from people who, after feeling dizzy, decided to purchase a CO detector for their enclosed shop and were surprised at the high numbers that the detector would have even though their garage door or shop door were wide open. At the same time my CO detector remains at 0 without my garage door open but only a roof vent fan on.

Now I cant stress enough the importance of a CO detector. Whether working with coal or propane CO buildup can send you to the morgue. Your body detects that you need to breathe by the amount of CO2 in your body but CO will push out oxygen WITHOUT triggering a gasping response. This is why pooled gasses like Argon from welding and CO have killed people that haven't even thought there was a problem.

Back in the dark ages of my youth, over 17 years ago, I was a volunteer firefighter and I learned something important about air and heat and thought it would be interesting to pass it on. One large open window or door does not make airflow. To achieve airflow you must have an entry point and an exit point and something moving the air. So two doors open on opposite sides of the shop wont do it either because there is no driver. One fan in one of two openings in the shop is only marginally better because the air blown in can pool and back pressure and go back out the same door it came in. So setting a box fan in the door of your shop will do little more than keep you cool.