I Forge Iron

forge questions, how to?

Thurstan

Hi, every1 this is my first post and i am new to blacksmithing. Now i got myself a anvil and some hammers + thongs, but i can't find a good fire. So i decided to build 1 myself.
I havent been able to get my hands on a brake drum, but i have been able to get 50kg of fire mortar that can hold temp's till 1100° c .
So my question is, does any1 here on the forum have a good id on how to use this fire mortar to make me a good forge? I want to start practice on some knifes and afterwards some art.
Got alot of old files and springsteel to practice on.

Ive made me a card with wheels, i was thinking about maybe putting on a iron box on top of that with a 20 cm high border and try to make the fire pot out of the fire mortar.
What do you guys think about that and will the fire mortar hold up for it?

greetings from belgium

I agree i wanna see the thongs...lol ....i have a hard enough time making tongs, i could see me making a thong....ha
but as to you question...if you search around the site you will find tons of pics of different configurations of all kinds of forges some are simple some are not...some guys have made them outta bar b que grills...some guys use a dirt pit...55 gal drums make nice ones...as far as the mortor goes I think it will not be durable enough...if you would get a couple of bricks you may be able to fashion something to get you a good fire...remember with a little air you can run 18-2200 degrees F plus, so I am not sure 1100c degree stuff (2050 degrees) will hold up since you are at your limit...where there is a will there is a way..

lol ok, srry that my english isn't all that well...

At the moment the only thing i can get a hold of is the fire mortor, If i try to use it for the forge, do you think it will explode or simply crack when it gets to warm?