I Forge Iron

Need help about my gas forge. Thanks

EZDUZIT

I am new to blacksmithing just to let you all know.

I had my single burner Diamondbackiron forge on and the gas set on 13psi.
I put a RR spike in and look away for a few minute , next thing i know it was melting the RR spike.

I can't get the melted metal off the dense refractory brick floor in my forge.
Shoud i replace the refractory brick floor of the forge or is it ok to use still with the melted metal in it?

Thanks
EZDUZIT

"yes"

Yes you will eventually replace that brick, it will not last as long as a brick that did not have this happen. That brick still has a useful service life though.

Yes you can clean the brick some, heat the forge up as hot as you had it, then use a bent piece of stock and scrape gently. Some of the brick will come with, so be careful and use just enough pressure. There will likely be a groove in the brick when you are done.

Yes you can use the forge the way it is, and just be careful and aware of the contamination. It will eventually oxidize and wear away if you do nothing to it. This may contaminate other projects, but likely will not matter as removing the scale on the other projects will remove the contamination.

My opinion, others may say different. Nice forge that can melt a spike in a few minutes.

Phil

I have the a two-burner from Diamondback and the floor uses the same brick as that in a wood burning stove. The bricks are only $2-$3 and can be found at any specialty fireplace shop or maybe even home depot. If you can't find one right away, you could always flip the brick over as a temporary solution. I really like my forge, but I haven't come close to melting anything... even running at higher PSI. Wondering if your gauge is working properly... or better yet, wondering if mine is...lol!

Thanks Paul42

I will try to find some new brick.