I Forge Iron

Blacksmithing Books

Many years ago, I was at a library sale and picked up a copy of "The Art of Blacksmithing" by Alex Bealer (copyright 1969)

Has anyone here ever read it? What was *your* opinion of it?

Photographs would have been nice, but there *are* about 500 illustrations, one of which was the patch of maille that I studied for hours trying to figure out the basic weave, leading me to eventually be a full-time, professional maille smith.

Anyway, to those more experienced smiths, I ask you...

What do *you* think of this book?

Are there others that you personally would recommend to the beginning blacksmith?

Thanks,

David

While I am not an experienced blacksmith I have been bitten by the bug for well over a year now and have spent many hours studying and practicing the craft.
I must say the Alex Bealers "The Art of Blacksmithing" has proven to be an excellent book for me. It was one of the first books of several that I have purchased, borrowed,etc. I think it should be part of any blacksmiths library and wouldn't hesitate to guess that many wouldn't agree with me.

BTW - I am currently awaiting delivery of George Dixons "A Blacksmiths Craft" Vol I as my birthday gift from my lovely wife.

Many years ago, I was at a library sale and picked up a copy of "The Art of Blacksmithing" by Alex Bealer (copyright 1969)

Has anyone here ever read it? What was *your* opinion of it?

Photographs would have been nice, but there *are* about 500 illustrations, one of which was the patch of maille that I studied for hours trying to figure out the basic weave, leading me to eventually be a full-time, professional maille smith.

Anyway, to those more experienced smiths, I ask you...

What do *you* think of this book?

Are there others that you personally would recommend to the beginning blacksmith?

Thanks,

David