I Forge Iron

brand new to blacksmithing

Hi all.
My name is David, and I'm brand new to blacksmithing.

I'm a maillesmith by trade and received my blacksmithing equipment in payment for a couple of historical reenactment pieces.

wdaforge1.jpg

I've played around with it a few times (made a fire poker for my wife and attempted a couple of RR Spike knives...

wdaforge2.jpg

My anvil is nothing special....just a section of I-Beam with what passes as a horn welded to one end.

wda_anvil.jpg

I got an electric squirrel cage blower in the trade as well, but it unfortunately shorted out the first time I plugged it in. :-( So, for now I'm just using an older hair dryer. Works ok, but working on getting a proper blower.

Also got a variety of tongs and a bunch of flat and round bar stock for me to practice with for the time being.

The last few days, my wife has kind of taken a shying to helping me make a proper (if quite small) smithy.

I only have a 10' wide x 5' deep space to work with. This pic shows the approximate placement of what I currently have in this space.

smithy.jpg

I have a tidy little space for everything that I *currently* have. The plans are to put up a section of 6' tall x 5' wide piece of stockade fence at the far end (right end of the pic). This will match the currently existing fence along the back and left side of the area that you can see in the first pic giving me a three-sided structure. We also plan on adding 2 10' 4x4s sunk 2' deep (holes filled with Quik-Crete) giving me 8' 4x4s to the front corners. Also will be adding an angled metal roof (2' rise over 5') angled front to back.

Any ideas for placement or things I might need in the near future to make this a more efficient workspace?

Thanks!

David

Welcome. Think "work triangle" for a workspace/workstation. Forge, tools, anvil, quench bucket, and vice all arranged withing a single triangle, with as few steps as possible.