I Forge Iron

forge chimney

I'm just learning this blacksmithing thing ,and so far I just love it . I get out in the shop and loose alllll sence of time. I'm putting up a new shop. It's a double carport and I put wood ends in it.My question is I don't know if I should put the chimney out the side of the wall,then up ,or up through the roof . Up through the roof I will have leaking problems,if I go through the wall I might have draft problems. I will be using 14inch signal wall pipe for the chimney.

As this is not built yet, why not test out the system before you make it permanent.

Small one man hobby forges do not require industrial strength hoods. The 14 inch diameter pipe concerns me as being overly large, as I would like to see the results of 14 inch vs 12 inch vs 10 inch under your conditions.

I'm fixin' to put a chimney up in my shop. 10" pipe will be sufficient for it and allow enough draft. Just remember that if you are going to go through the side, stay away from 90 degree angles. A straight shot is best. But if you have to, go with 45 degree angles.

Using a chimney pipe pass through on the rood as well as flashing and tarring should take care of any leaking.

I made a side draft just as Uri has. Since my last shop burned down, I am concerned on safety. The horizontal part goes right through the side wall, contacting the drywall, a tight 2x4 frame, and then rough sawn siding.

In my first test, the side draft gets warm to the point you can touch it, but not hold your hand on it for more than a few seconds.

I am thinking of cutting the side draft off flush to the wall and then putting a smaller side draft inside. This would be an inch smaller on all sides, the extra space would be filled with insulating putty. This would give an insulated double walled pipe through the thickness of the wall. Since the outer pipe is cut off at the inner wall, the only heat would be radiating the distance to the forge, no conducting.