I Forge Iron

Scrounging parts or buying from one source

ofafeather

Hi, All. I am new to the fine world of blacksmithing and am hoping to build my first gas forge. This is the model that I am thinking of making. Plans to build a simple gas forge
No heavy cutting or welding is needed. It sounds like most of the parts are pretty easy to acquire as long as you can find a supplier nearby. I plan on buying a burner from Larry. I think that the burner is the most challenging part and that would eliminated needing parts from a welding supply. Larry also sells most of the other parts needed. Burner Flares & Gas Forge Parts If I purchased the following from him, it would cost $357.25 shipped.
Z Burner Assembly
Simple Burner Holder Assembly
Single Burner Connection kit
Idle Circuit Kit
Fire Brick for floor and front
Plistix 900
Cermaic Blanket
(All quantities are enough for making the Bucket Forge as described above)

I am trying to figure out if I am better off buying all the parts there then just getting the basic parts here or mixing and matching. I would still need the bucket and material to make legs, paint, and possibly the port for the rear that he mentions.

Any thoughts? I live in a small town. There's a decent hardware store nearby but the larger stores are 45 minutes away.

Thanks.
Eric