I Forge Iron

advice on first anvil purchase

hey guys ,
I`m looking to get into blacksmithing and have read a good amt on here and anvilfire.
I have seen a mousehole 125#,anvil with the pritchell and hardy holes,shows lots of wear but appears to be in good shape.No visible welds,cracks etc...
Its listed at 325.00...which seems a little steep to me...but I am new to this ??
I also have seen a 150# Peter Wright ,again no visible repairs,but this one shows alot of wear,appears to have enough sway back that its obvious to the eye,also the table is worn alot more on one side than the other and the edge is rolled over a bit on that side.Asking 350.00 for that one.???
Again seems a little high to me but...thats why I`m asking ??
Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Buy the anvil with the flattest face and the cleanest edges that you can find/afford; minor pitting in the face is not so important and can be a good bargaining point. Badly worn anvils can be useful for some job, especially those that involve extreme violence but will limit your ability and draw you into bad habits.
Blacksmithing is hard enough to learn, without having tofight against your tools.

There is a thread titled real prices of anvils that gives the range of prices people are paying for anvils now. You may want to search that out.