I Forge Iron

Chimney size

Hi. I've read many threads concerning chimney pipe diameter for a coal forge. I am new at blacksmithing and am currently in the middle of shop construction and still am unsure what chimney diameter to use. My roof will be asphalt shingles on a half-inch deck - no ceiling. The problem is that I already have a forge hood with an 8" opening, but from what I've read, a 12" chimney pipe is preferable. Now is the time to decide on the 12" chimney pipe, but hate to waste the hood. Any ideas? (At this point I have to stick with the steel pipe chimney instead of masonry).

Side draft is a point of use system where as a open hood suspended above a fire tries to gather air (smoke) from the entire room and is less efficient.

Depending on the type of forging you will be doing, size of the fire, and heat from that fire will influence the chimney size needed.

8 inch chimney has a cross sectional area of 50 square inches.
10 inch chimney has a cross sectional area of 78 square inches or 1.56 times larger
12 inch chimney has a cross sectional area of 113 square inches or 2.26 times larger

It is generally accepted that bigger is better. I have used a side draft hood with a 10 inch exhaust opening and an 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 18 inch chimney. Side draft hood height was 3 feet with about 10 feet of chimney. Each increase in size increased efficiency up to 14 inches diameter. 14 inch was about the same but 16, and 18 each decreased in efficiency. This could have been fixed with a taller stack. (all other items were held constant, only the chimney size was changed)

No matter which method you use, you MUST replace the amount of exhaust leaving the chimney with the same or greater volume of fresh air entering the shop. Otherwise you starve the chimney, resulting in lack of draft, and smoke in the room.

Maybe others can report about real life experiences with different size chimneys.