I Forge Iron

rail road during the french indian war???

found this on ebay, looks like a rr spike hawk, but the description says its an antique from the french indian war, i dont think we had railroads back then?? also it looks like a mass produced hammer handle on it... i think their trying to rip people off with that high price rr spike hawk...but im no expert.

Fantastic American Indian Spike Tomahawk - eBay (item 280384905467 end time Aug-20-09 09:38:24 PDT)

I would question the shape and symmetry of the handle. It looks like a modern hammer handle. Not that somebody couldn't have carved one that perfect with a drawknife, but I have my doubts.

There may have been railroads in that area at that time. Here is a link with a timeline:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oldest_railroads_in_North_America

Edited by JamesBBrauer
added link for rr history

of course the spikes used on the early wooden or wooden with an iron cap rails are not like the spikes designed for the "modern" fish plate.

If you ever get to Manasses VA the town museum has several examples of ACW wrought iron rails that are quite differnt from modern rails on display.

I don't "do" e-bay,but i have looked there once,and found some interesting stuff:Apparently,e-bay encourages people to volunteer expert articles on a particular subject.
The one on axes,and the collecting of axes,i found very interesting,can highly recommend reading it.
One of the things that particularly struck me is that there indeed are a lot of modern reproductions being passed off as antiques,many of them involving some very competent forging.I just thought it curious,that some of "us",the forging folk,are actually in the biz of faking artifacts!
But the article,in my opinion,is very worth reading for it's historical information.Of course,the very point of it is to help people to differentiate between the real and the fake(very challenging,at times!).

• 3 weeks later...