I Forge Iron

Problems Quenching

Hello everyone. I am new to blade smithing and a few weeks ago I have built a forge and bought a grinder and all the basic stuff I need. The blade is made from an old rr spike and I have basically finished the blade and I'm ready to quench. However I have quenched the blade twice in some old chain saw oil...the blade didn't harden....three times in motor oil....the blade didn't harden. Then I tried twice in water....the blade still didn't harden. I  almost certain I brought the blade up to the proper temperature because it was glowing orange and it lost all magnetism. Despite all my attempts, the blade never hardened. I know that RR spikes have a very low carbon content, but from videos, forums, research, etc, they will harden. I don't understand why I can't get mine to harden. Any suggestions on how to proceed would be very helpful, thank you everyone

Railroad spikes WON'T harden properly for a blade and the number of times you attempt will have absolutely no effect!

Old spikes are low carbon and new spikes are right at the medium carbon/low carbon boundary  For a blade you want high carbon or at least the upper levels of medium with other alloying elements that will promote hardening.

You have very nicely proven that much of what you find on the internet is totally garbage.  Sturgeon's Law in its strict application.  Also how hard it is to do proper research when you are just entering a craft and can't vet the sources you find.  If you live near me let me know and I can show you the ropes. If you live in the USA go to your local public library and ask to ILL "The Complete Bladesmith".  If you are outside the USA you need to find someone local to you that knows what they are doing.