I Forge Iron

Setting up a furnace, with a couple questions

Hey folks!

I just finished 8 years in the US Army, and bought a house with a big back yard so I can finally build the forge and furnace that's been bouncing around my head for the last half decade.

I'm building a closed clay and brick crucible furnace. The plan is to fire iron and pig iron to make high carbon steel (along with some vanadium, Molybdenum, and some other elements) let it cool with the furnace, and then remove the solid ingots the next day.

I have no experience handling molten steel, or any other metal, and don't have any intention of starting now. I'm not particularly interested in casting, and if I wanted to cast anything, I wouldn't be starting with steel.

I do, however, have experience forging (though it's been a few years) but I'm very interested in the science behind the different types of high carbon blade steels we see in history, and I want to try my hand at recreating them.

So, on to the questions!
I plan to make my own crucibles of fire clay and grog, which is rated for temperatures upwards of 1700c (I don't plan to get any higher than 1260c) so it should handle the temperatures.
Are there any considerations for using a crucible like this for ferrous metals?
Is there any likelihood that a given crucible will survive having an ingot tapped out of it, or should I expect to have to smash each one?
Any materials you'd suggest adding to create a crucible with higher survivability, or for any other reason?